Why can't this wave travel in vacuum

In summary, the Ideal condition is when a wave has a frequency between 1014 to 1015 Hz and it can easily pass through a vacuum. However, when a wave has a frequency between 20 to 20,000 Hz, it cannot pass through a vacuum, even though it is the same wave just different in frequency.
pankaj232007
Hi Friends! Consider an Ideal condition. suppose, I prepared a device which can generate and vary the frequency of a wave (you can consider the wave to be electromagnic wave). Using this device I studied following two scenarios:
1. I created a wave having frequency between 1014 to 1015 Hz.
I passed this 1st waves thru vacuum, it passed easily.
2. Then I created a wave having frequency between 20 to 20,000 Hz
Again I passed this 2nd wave thru vacuum, but it couldn't pass.

You must be wondering, how can I be so sure, that wave will travel or not? Answer to this is: the first wave is the frequency of visible light wave(approx), and we all know light can travel thru vacuum. The frequency of second wave is that of human audible sound range, and it cannot travel thru vacuum. Why such behaviour, when both are same wave just different in frequency?

Physics news on Phys.org
pankaj232007 said:
both are same wave just different in frequency?

These are completely different waves. There is no problem with passing a 20Hz-20kHz electromagnetic wave through the vacuum. The sound is conducted only through compressible media, so it doesn't pass through a vacuum.

Light is electromagnetic waves, which require no medium in which to propagate.

Sound are longitudinal pressure variations in air. They require air in which to propagate.

Electromagnetic waves of all frequencies pass through vacuum.

No sound of any frequency can pass through a vacuum.

pankaj232007 said:
Why such behaviour, when both are same wave just different in frequency?