Why do powerplants sell electricity for a negative price?

In summary, the power plants receive a fixed fee in addition to the price they agree to sell for, which offsets any losses from selling electricity for a negative price. It is rational for them to ignore minor losses, but there are powerful human psychology motivations to avoid losses.
ConradG
TL;DR Summary
Occasionally powerplants sell electricity for a negative price due to excess supply.
Could they not allow the excess electricity to dissipate instead, to avoid this cost?
Hi all, sorry in advance if this is a dumb question, I am not an electrical engineer but find the topic fascinating! My question is:

Occasionally powerplants sell electricity for a negative price due to excess supply, such as in Germany:

https://www.cleanenergywire.org/factsheets/why-power-prices-turn-negative

I understand that they cannot produce less electricity, because ramping up and down is difficult. And I understand that it is essential for inputs and outputs from the grid to be balanced, to maintain frequency.

But what I don't understand is, why do they do not allow the excess electricity to dissipate, instead of paying to send it into the grid?

Is it particularly difficult to get rid of excess electricity? I understand that the energy would be converted into heat, but could they not heat up some nearby large object by a couple of degrees?

I appreciate anyone's insights and thank you in advance :)

Engineering news on Phys.org
That's a fair question.

There is such a thing as a waterbox resistor. It is like a swimming pool of water that can be boiled to dissipate energy. But they are very rare because dissipating energy doesn't make sense.

But the real answer is that power plants are paid a fixed fee just to enter a bid into the energy markets. If that bid is accepted (even at negative price), they are obligated to supply the energy to the grid.