Why Does a Sealed Chip Bag Expand at High Altitudes?

In summary, the conversation discusses the reason behind a sealed packet of potato chips inflating like a balloon when taken to the top of a mountain on a cloudy day. The two possible reasons mentioned are the difference in air temperature and atmospheric pressure between the inside and outside of the packet. It is explained that atmospheric pressure decreases with altitude, causing the pressure inside the packet to be higher than the pressure outside, resulting in the packet inflating. The conversation also mentions an experiment using a glass jar and a vacuum pump to demonstrate this concept.
Jam Smith
Member advised to use the homework template for posts in the homework sections of PF.
I am not tech savvy. But I like to solve quiz relates math and physics.

I was solving such questions and come across this question.
"On a cloudy day, a sealed packet of potato chips is taken to the top of a mountain. The packet is found to be blown up like a balloon."

What is the reason behind it?

I found two reasons as per my knowledge,
1. The air outside the packet is hotter than the air inside the packet or
2. The air outside is now at a lower pressure than the air inside the packet.

Which one is the right reason? Please guide me in detail.

Physics news on Phys.org
Atmospheric pressure decreases with altitude. The potato chip bag was sealed at the surface of the earth, so the pressure in the bag is the surface pressure. The pressure at the top of the mountain is less than surface pressure. So the inside pressure is higher than the outside pressure, and the bag inflates like a balloon.

Likes Jam Smith
Jam Smith said:
1. The air outside the packet is hotter than the air inside the packet
Why would that cause the packet to blow up?

The air inside expands until the pressure inside is the same as that outside.

Some weather balloons explode at height.

CWatters said: