Why does doping make resonating valence bonds (singlet pairs) mobile?

In summary: Pros and cons of Resonant Valence Bond Theory:-Pros: it is a simple and straightforward theory which does not require a lot of special assumptions or calculations.-Cons: it is not well supported by experimental evidence at the moment.
Faizan Samad
TL;DR Summary
I'm a first year masters student so I'm looking for a qualitative, possibly intuitive explanation, rather than a math heavy quantitative one. This is for a presentation for my class.
I know in RVB theory that neighbouring Copper atoms form singlet pairs via the superexchange "force". Upon doping with holes, these neutral singlet RVB pairs become mobile and charged and are able to superconduct. I know that the resonating valence bonds are in the copper 3d(x^2-y^2) orbital and when hole doped, these are the electrons that are removed. My questions are, why are they called neutral singlets when they are undoped? And why does doping allow them to become mobile? I read that they separate into fractional quasiparticles as holon-antiholon pairs when they are hole doped. Are these mobile RVBs "traveling" through holes or am I completely missing the picture? Also I have read a lot of papers from PW Anderson and G Baskaran and I am still a little confused as to what makes RVBs mobile superconductors upon doping. Thank you. Any help is appreciated

Physics news on Phys.org
I am afraid that I can't help answer the specific questions; but it is perhaps worth pointing out that RVB is -most likely- not an actual explanation for HTS. which could be one reason for your confusion It was a very early theory, and does not -as far as I am aware- agree with experiments (at least in its "plain" form)
Hopefully, you are already aware of this and is studying this for "historical" reasons.

Likes trurle
Faizan Samad said:
My questions are, why are they called neutral singlets when they are undoped?