Why does my sensor show "gaps" every 16 units of resolution?

In summary: Yes, I can generate a long slow change in physical torque to produce a slow linear numerical ramp. Ideally two to ten identical values before the next. Those numbers can help to identify the reason for the missing codes.Thank you, this is very helpful.
mazzo532
TL;DR Summary
Why does my sensor shows "gaps" every 16 units of resolution? SEE IMAGE
Hello Gentlemen,

I'm not an EE engineer, yet trying to help my colleagues. I would like to get a general feeling of what could be going on.
Probably trivial for some of you.

Background
We have a motor/torque sensor device that is measuring torque values. We get out digital signals for Torque and Position.
Below you can find a simple plot of a bunch of torque curves (several repetitions of the same experiment).
Plots are simply Torque vs sampling point count.

Question/issue
As you can notice from the the torque curves, there seems to be torque values that are "not used" by our sensor. Empty bands, no matter what.
I could define them as "gaps in the measurement resolution".

The only remarkable detail is that I seem to see 1 "resolution gap" every 16 resolution points exactly.

In other words, if resolution was 0.1Nm our measurement system would acts like this:
1. Can measure 0.0Nm
2. Can measure 0.1Nm
3. Can measure 0.2Nm
15. Can measure 1.4Nm
16. GAP --> Cannot measure 1.5Nm
and so on
I have the feeling this phenomenon is super trivial
What could that be?
What are good keywords to search info about such a phenomenon in the web?
I'm sorry for the basic formulation. Any hint appreciated.
Thank you in advance!
Gaps_in_Resolution.jpg

Engineering news on Phys.org
Look at the actual data before it is scaled for the plot. Are there gaps in the data?
It could be a beat between the quantisation of your data and the vertical axis of the scale.