Why not transmit electricity in 4-phase?

• Thread starter GregValcourt
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Electricity
In summary, high phase order transmission is interesting not only because of losses, but also because of series reactance.
GregValcourt
Or even better, generate in 4-Phase, convert to two-phase for transmission. Even number phases cancel out nicely (contrary to popular belief, 3-phase does not actually cancel out). 2-phase might be convertible back to four phase for the purpose of industrial motors.

Forgive me for speaking out of ignorance, I'm not an electrician or engineer. Mathematically, an even number of phases seems better for transmission (in terms of loss).

Mathematical graph of 3 sine waves 120 degrees apart, with resultant wave:

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 7.28.25 PM.png

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 7.28.25 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 7.28.25 PM.png
    44.7 KB · Views: 436
Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Those 3 sine waves don't look 120 degrees apart to me.

Likes GregValcourt
The sum of the instantaneous currents in all three phases should always be close to zero. That reduces the magnetic radiation from the transmission line.

Given a minimum of three phases and by using transformers, any number of other phase combinations can be generated. For a simple example see; https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott-T_transformer

The sum of cross sections of conductors in a transmission line is independent of the number of phases, but the cost of insulators is 33% higher for a 4 phase line than for a 3 phase line.

Here's why 3-phase cancels:
$$\sin(x-120)+\sin x+\sin(x+120)=\sin x\cos (-120)+\cos x\sin (-120)+\sin x+\sin x\cos 120+\cos x\sin 120$$

$$=-\sin x\cos 60+-\cos x\sin 60+\sin x-\sin x\cos 60+\cos x\sin 60$$
$$=-\sin x\cos 60+\sin x-\sin x\cos 60
=-\tfrac{1}{2}\sin x+\sin x-\tfrac{1}{2}\sin x=0$$