Why proton and electron collision doesn't result in annihilation?

In summary, the conversation discussed the concept of particle annihilation and how it occurs between particles and their exact antiparticles. It was explained that electrons and positrons annihilate due to their opposite charges, while electrons and protons do not because they are not exact antiparticles. The conservation of Baryon and Lepton numbers was also mentioned. The conversation also touched on the discovery of the positron by Dirac and the possibility of changing fermions into bosons through annihilation. It was clarified that while individual particles do not have temperatures, they do have energy, and the conservation of energy applies after annihilation. Additionally, the conversation briefly mentioned the relationship between temperature and the form of matter, with higher temperatures favoring bosonic
aditya23456
I am new to particle physics, but I heard that electron and positron annihilate each other in case of contact mainly because both have opposite charge( even same mass). Consider an electron is given enough kinetic energy such that it compensates mass differentiation between proton and electron, and undergoes perfect collision, then we should observe annihilation. In case they don't annihilate there's some other parameter which is main reason for annihilation other than opposite charge. Am I right?

Physics news on Phys.org
The reason has already been stated by kjhskj... Annihilation occurs between particles-antiparticles. The electron's antiparticle is the positron and not the proton.
At first when Dirac found out the existence of "antiparticles" in his theory and tried to interpret this result. Quote from wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Positron: