X-Ray Photography Safety: Risks, Precautions, and Resources

In summary, the conversation centers around the dangers and precautions of building a homemade X-ray machine. The participants caution against undertaking such a project without proper guidance from a qualified technician and mention the potential risks of X-rays passing through walls and harming others. The individual seeking information has outlined a set of safety rules for themselves, including not being physically present when the device is turned on and using multiple measurement instruments to ensure safety. They also mention plans to shield the device in a basement and ask for recommendations on materials to use.
ArixII
Hi,
(I'm not native in English, sorry for if bad English)

Some background:
As a programmer I got more and more distance with physics. I bought a US x-ray tube off ebay to step to a hobby project that naturally keeps me on with refreshing physics knowledge. After the tube came, I jumped into internet and hit head to an article about Edison's assistant's cancer out of x-ray. The fear of 'making health problems' introduced a huge force vector in negative direction and I stayed blocked with my project for 1 year (till now).

Well, fear is no good. Newly I finished a small robot that could be directed from internet, by wifi. I now can use that in my initial x-ray project and not be presented where x-ray is active.

I need to know for safety:
1. how far the device must be from me
2. how long should I not to enter the place after x-ray photography
3. what best / cheapest measurement instruments I must buy to study the environment (I'd like to obtain 2 instruments from 2 different producers, put in the environment and fix a web camera on them, then read before entering the place).

realization:
1. where can I get information to first test the tube I bought and know if it is alive
2. what is the best schematics to put the tube to work.