1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

1st order differential equation

1. Apr 7, 2007 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

(Can someone please check my work? Bear with me, this is my first time using LaTex on this forum...)
    Find the general solution to the first oder ODE

[tex]
    y'-y=e^x
    [/tex]

by substituting a series
    [tex]y= \sum_{n=0}^\infty a_n x^n[/tex] about [tex]x_0=0[/tex], finding the recurrence relation for a_n, and solving to find an expression for the general term [tex]a_n[/tex] in terms of [tex]a_0[/tex]. What is the radius of convergence of the solution?

2. Relevant equations

[tex]e^x = \sum_{n=0}^\infty \frac{x^n}{n!}[/tex]

3. The attempt at a solution

I plugged y into the DE:
    [tex]
    \sum_{n=1}^\infty a_n n x^{n-1} - \sum_{n=0}^\infty a_n x^n = \sum_{n=0}^\infty \frac{x^n}{n!}
    [/tex]

Then I made all series start at n=0:
    [tex]
    \sum_{n=0}^\infty a_{n+1} (n+1) x^n - \sum_{n=0}^\infty a_n x^n - \sum_{n=0}^\infty \frac{x^n}{n!} = 0
    [/tex]

Bringing together like terms:
    [tex]
    \sum_{n=0}^\infty x^n (a_{n+1} (n+1) - a_n - \frac{1}{n!}) = 0
    [/tex]

Set coefficients equal to zero:
    [tex]
    a_{n+1} (n+1) - a_n - \frac{1}{n!} = 0
    [/tex]

Solving for recurrence relation:
    [tex]
    a_{n+1} = \frac{n!a_n +1}{(n+1)!}
    [/tex]

After plugging in n=0,1,2,3,4... the pattern is:
    [tex]
    a_n = \frac{a_0 + n}{n!}
    [/tex]

Therefore, the solution is:
    [tex]
    y = a_0 + (a_0 + 1)x+(\frac{a_0 + 2}{2})x^2 + (\frac{a_0 + 3}{6})x^3 +...
    [/tex]

I was unsure about how to determine the radius of convergence.

Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 7, 2007 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor