1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A lot of considerations about the Bohr's Hydrogen Atom

1. Mar 2, 2013 #1
    I'm studying the Bohr's hydrogen atom and my teacher gave us a challenge question. When I was working in the problem I've got a couple of other questions that I don't know the answer.

The initial problem was the following:
    Today we know the electrons are not the only particles moving inside the atom. The nucleus is moving too, but with a very smaller radius. In the Bohr hydrogen atom we can say the nucleus describes a circumference with the same angular velocity of the electron, and they are always "diametrically" opposed. The sum of the angular momentum of the nucleus and the electron is a integer multiple of h/2 π. Calculate the percentage deviation of the new Rydberg constant in this case.

OK, let's begin
    Let:
    Rp= proton orbital radius
    Re = electron orbital radius
    Vp = proton orbital velocity
    Ve = electron orbital velocity
    w = angular velocity of electron/proton
    Mp = proton mass
    Me = electron mass
    q = charge of electron/proton
    Rh = Rydberg constant
    c = speed of light
    ε = vacuum permittivity

We have:
    Me w Re² + Mp w Rp² = n h/2π (I)
    Me w² Re = Mp w² Rp = q²/4πε(Re+Rp)² (II)

From (II) Rp = Me Re/Mp
    From (I) w Re² Me(Me+Mp)/Mp = n h/2π (squaring)
    Re4 w² Me² (Me+Mp)²/Mp² = n²h²/4π² (substituting w)
    Re4 Me² (Me+Mp)²/Mp² . q²/4πε(Re+Rp)² Me Re = n²h²/4π²
    But (Re+Rp)² = Re² (Me+Mp)²/Mp²
    Doing all the calculations,
    Re = h² ε/π q² Me . n²
    Rp = h² ε/π q² Mp . n² (that's because we don't wee the nucleus orbiting, its radius is 1836x smaller than the electron 's

Finding w:
    w = Me Mp/(Me+Mp) . q4 π/2h³ε² . 1/n³