Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A timer Interrupt to cause delay

1. Nov 27, 2008 #1
    I am new to interrupts, so i have made a simple program using a timer interrupt to cause a delay of about 1 sec in displaying the binary numbers. However I have failed to achieve this.

Anyone knows the problem with my program?

any assitance will be highly appreciated.

#include <p24FJ128GA010.h>

_CONFIG2( FNOSC_FRCPLL & OSCIOFNC_OFF ); // Internal oscillator - 4xPLL giving 16 MIPS
    // pin RC15 has the oscillator

int main()
    {
    //Configure the device to use the internal oscillator
    OSCCONbits.COSC = 1u; // Internal oscillator with PLL
    CLKDIVbits.RCDIV = 0u; //Internal oscillator not divided (8MHz)
    CLKDIVbits.DOZEN =0; //No post scaling
    CLKDIVbits.DOZE =0; //

//Set the LSB of port A to be outputs
    TRISA = 0xFF00;

//TIMER1 Configuration Register
    T1CON = 0;
    T1CONbits.TCKPS = 0b11; //Prescale = 256
    T1CONbits.TON = 1; //Timer on
    TMR1 = 0; //Timer = 0

//Configure TIMER1 interrupt
    _T1IP = 4; //Interrupt priority = 4
    PR1 = 62500-1; //Period Register

_T1IF = 0; //Clear timer interrupt flag
    _T1IE = 1; //Switch on timer 1 interrupt enable

TMR1 = 0;

while(1)
    {
    Idle();
    asm("nop");
    PORTA = 0b11111111;
    PORTA = 0b00000000;

}//end while loop

}//end main loop

//TIMER1 Interrupt
    void __attribute__((interrupt, no_auto_psv)) _T1Interrupt()
    {

_T1IF = 0; //Clear interrrupt flag before returning
    }

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 1, 2008 #2
    I am aware of timer interrupts. I've used the sleep(int seconds) procedure to set a thread to sleep for a set number of seconds. You can have a process wait for a resource with the wait() function or its equivalent and have the process currently using the process signal the waiting process when its done.