Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A true, unprovable and simple statement

1. Aug 26, 2006 #1
    "Since I am a mathematician, I give a precise answer to this question. Thanks to Kurt Gödel, we know that there are true mathematical statements that cannot be proved. But I want a little more than this. I want a statement that is true, unprovable, and simple enough to be understood by people who are not mathematicians. Here it is."

http://www.edge.org/q2005/q05_9.html#dysonf

Last edited: Aug 26, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 26, 2006 #2

0rthodontist

Science Advisor

I don't believe it. He says the probability of a given power of 2 reversing to be a power of 5 is less than 1 in a billion, but there is an unlimited number of such powers. Also maybe he has some reasonable argument behind his statement that it cannot be proved but what he's given is not reasonable.

4. Aug 26, 2006 #3

mathman

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Above is Dyson's argument. If you look at it carefully, he is definitely hedging. First sentence "seems to occur". Second sentence "unlikely to happen". etc. Finally "believe it to be true".

This is certainly not a case of a true but unprovable statement, as far as any respectable mathematician would say.

5. Aug 26, 2006 #4
    I'm going to take a shot at this. I've only got 1Gb of RAM on my PC, so I won't get into mind-boggling numbers, but we'll see if within the limits I have I can find a number that satisifes the process.

I just need to find out how to calculate 5th roots. I've got a question about this on another forum, but if anyone knows the answer, pipe up. For these very large numbers, the only function of this "type" available to me is pow (power).

6. Aug 26, 2006 #5

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper