1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Absolute Value of Magnetization

1. May 19, 2017 #1
    Hello, I'm a student of electrical engineering. This task appeared in one of the past exams. I've been using the procedure I believe should yield the correct result, however, it turns out I was wrong. Could somebody please check out where the mistake lays in my calculations?
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Ferromagnetic core (task assumes it is linear) has middle length of ##l = 0.2 m## and an air gap of width ##\delta = 0.001 m##. It carries a ##N = 200## winding coil conducting current ##I = 8 A##. Compute absolute value of magnetization.

2. Relevant equations
    I believe that ##\int H \cdot dl = 0## and ##H = \frac{B}{\mu_0} - M## should be adequate.

3. The attempt at a solution
    Fakulteta za elektrotehniko.png
    So, according to above mentioned equations, ##(1) H_{core}l + H_{gap}\delta = 0##. For ##H_{core}## I used ##(2) H_{core} = \frac{B}{\mu_0} - M##. Plug this into ##(1)## and so expressed magnetization ##M## should be (according to my calculations): $$ (3) M = \frac{\frac{B (l + \delta)}{\mu_0}}{l} $$

I computed B-field as with ##NI = Hl = \frac{B l}{\mu_0}## which yields ##B = 0.0032 \pi T##. Then I plugged this result into ##(3)## and obtained ##M = 8040 \frac{A}{m}## which is incorrect according to faculty provided solutions. Correct result should be ##M = 1.14 MA/m##.

Any help would be appreciated!

2. jcsd
  3. May 19, 2017 #2

Charles Link

Homework Helper