1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

AC Electronics Problem (Problem with Peak values)

1. Mar 15, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

This is my first time posting so I'm sorry if the formatting isn't right, just let me know what I need to change. Thanks.

Note: If it helps, I am using "Electronics with Discrete Components" by Enrique J. Galvez and this problem is #4 on page 166.

"The AC supply had a peak voltage of 10 V and a frequency of 1 kHz, and the capacitor had a capacitance of 0.1 μF.

a: Find the peak value of the current through the capacitor.

b: Explain how the current flows through the capacitor.

c: What is the peak voltage between points A and B?

d: We change the frequency of the source so that the peak voltage through the capacitor is the same as the peak voltage through the resistor.
    i: What is the value of the frequency?
    ii: What are the peak voltages across the resistor and capacitor?
    iii: Explain why they are not 5 V."

https://www.circuitlab.com/circuit/87u2sy/screenshot/540x405/

2. Relevant equations

ZR = R
    ZC = [itex]\frac{1}{iωc}[/itex]
    ω = 2πf
    V0 = |Zeq|I0

3. The attempt at a solution

a:
    In this problem, for part a, I found that Zeq = R + [itex]\frac{1}{iωc}[/itex]
    and so |Zeq| = [itex]\sqrt{R^{2} - (\frac{1}{ωc})^{2}}[/itex]

From there, I entered what I knew into V0 = |Zeq|I0 in order to solve for I0.

I0 = [itex]\frac{V_{0}}{\sqrt{R^{2} - (\frac{1}{ωc})^{2}}}[/itex]

Plug in with:
    V0 = 10 V
    R2 = 1000 Ω
    ω = 2000π rad/s
    c = 10-7 F

I0 = [itex]\frac{10}{\sqrt{(1000)^{2} - (\frac{1}{(2000π)(10)^{-7}})^{2}}}[/itex]

Solve:
    I0 = 0.0081 A

I believe this is the correct solution for part a but I am not quite confident with it.

b: