Advice for a potential career in Pure mathematics

In summary: It was very hard to balance math, family, and teaching. I had to make sacrifices in order to do them all. I had to quit my job to focus on my graduate studies. I had to miss out on family events. But it was worth it. I am now a professor and a researcher in the field of algebraic geometry.
Brian Olson
I use to hate math during high school. However some eight years after graduating and being in the military help with my attitude towards math. I am reviewing a GRE math review book and I haven't been able to put it down. I just learned quadriatic equations and am pursuing into intermediate and advance algebra. I just never realized how much I actually enjoyed math till last year. I am teaching myself all this and I'm getting it more easy then I would ever imagine. So i jumped into the world of mathematics, discovering the field of Pure Mathematics. So my goal is to get a BA in Mathematics from SNHU and a Phd in Pure Mathematics from UCONN. Any advice/tips?

Physics news on Phys.org
Research what are good books. Patience and tenacity is key. Read the book constantly with paper and pencil. Most of my books (older math books), tend to have larger margins. I write in the books, rewrite sentences and explain the proofs in the examples on the margins. Try to think about the why. Look at the proof. Practice it, and follow each line asking why it is true. Then after practicing alot, attempt the proof. If you get stuck after a while(not five mins then looking st the derivation), Re read it. And go again. Once you have it down practice for an hour without looking. Make sure you understand and not just memorizing. After proceeding a bit further in the book. Stop, grab a blank sheet of paper and summarize what you have learned. Then think of the proofs you practiced and re produce them on that blank paper without looking.

MidgetDwarf said: