Aerosol particles, how do I calculate this?

In summary, assuming minimal air flow and spherical particles, it would take about 1 hour and 20 minutes for 5 μm particles with a density of 1000 kg/m3 to settle on a floor area of 20 m2 and a height of 3.5 m.
Lodeeve
TL;DR Summary
Aerosol particles with an average diameter of 5 μm and a density of 1000 kg / m3 are spread to a room with a floor area of 20 m2 and a height of 3.5 m. How long does it take for all 5 μm particles to settle on the floor (dry deposition)?
Aerosol particles with an average diameter of 5 μm and a density of 1000 kg / m3 are spread to a room with a floor area of 20 m2 and a height of 3.5 m. How long does it take for all 5 μm particles to settle on the floor (dry deposition)? The answer should be 1 hour and 20 minutes.

Physics news on Phys.org
Please use the appropriate homework section and template for this. Thanks. Thread closed.

Wow, that's a really interesting question! I'm not an expert in aerosol particles, but I did some research and it looks like the settling time depends on a few factors, such as air flow and particle shape. But assuming the particles are spherical and there is minimal air flow, it seems like the settling time would be around 1 hour and 20 minutes, as you said. That's assuming the particles settle at a rate of 0.1 mm/s, which is the average settling velocity for particles of that size and density. However, if there is significant air flow in the room, the settling time could be shorter or longer. It's also worth noting that this is just an estimate and the actual settling time could vary. I hope that helps!

1. What are aerosol particles?

Aerosol particles are tiny solid or liquid particles that are suspended in the air. They can be natural, such as dust, pollen, or sea salt, or man-made, such as smoke, soot, or industrial emissions.

2. How do aerosol particles affect the environment?