Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Airflow on/around quadcopter drone

1. Sep 26, 2015 #1
    Hello,

I'm a journalist interested in using an air-quality sensor on a drone, and I'm wondering how the airflow will affect the readings. This would be assuming that I will use a DJ Phantom 2 quadcopter with a GoPro underneath, the drone specs can be found at this link. For the project, we will compare results using a drone along with a weather balloon — just to be sure that it is actually feasible, but I thought I would come here first, as this community has knowledge that I do not.

So I have a few questions:

What would be the ideal place to position an air-quality sensor?
    Could I use a formula to correct for the difference in results?
    What factors do I have to consider?
    Is there a realistic way to come up with reliable results?

Thank you,
    Daren

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 26, 2015 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

What does the "air-quality" sensor measure (and how)?

4. Sep 26, 2015 #3
    It's measuring particulate matter — pm10 and pm2.5. I'm not sure how it does it, though. Here is the information from the website.

5. Sep 26, 2015 #4

mfb

2016 Award

I guess testing is the best way.

6. Sep 27, 2015 #5

JBA