Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Am I good enough to become an engineer?

1. Apr 27, 2007 #1
    Hello I am currently a high school student near graduation and I want to know what skills and general ability kind of things are needed to be a good engineer. I am a student of relatively high spatial, mathematical, systematic ability and am quite good at communicating through writing as well. However I think I lack some practical skills, i.e. I am not extremely fit and have very little hands on experience on engineering tools and such.

What skills does engineering require to be good at it? I am good at all the sciences and mathematics and teachers describe me as creative when solving problems but my parents think im not creative at all. As an engineer, do you have to be really practical and physical?

Secondly, I would like to ask what field of engineering is likely to be the next big thing? I am interested in nearly all fields, including aerospace, electrical and mechanical (cars). Also, out of these fields which one is the most practical and which one is the easiest and hardest to understand?

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 27, 2007 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF!

You don't learn much in the way of practical skills in college and even if you did, they certainly wouldn't require it for entrance or need it as a prerequisite for success.

Success in engineering in school requires, primarily, two things:

-Somewhat above average intelligence.
    -Effort.

4. Apr 27, 2007 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor