Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Amateur question about rearranging atoms

1. Oct 17, 2011 #1
    Hi,

I've been thinking about atoms alot lately, and I've tried to search on internet but did not find any comforting answers yet.

So (yes I'm an amateur) there is like 100+ known elements that's possible to combine together to form another compound. My question here is: Would it be theoretical possible to "tear" down molecyls and then build it up to form another element?

Take garbage/vaste for example. Tear down the vaste and then build up new materials.

Maby this goes under another topic. But I would be greatful for any answers.

Thank you

Best regards
    Mr. Hansen

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2011 #2
    The whole field of chemistry is the study of tearing apart molecules and rearranging the molecules to get new materials. Any "synthetic material" such as plastic is made in the lab by rearranging atoms in a controlled way. Any chemistry experiment you could do, such as mixing baking soda and vinegar, is a creation of new material by rearranging atoms.

The field of nuclear physics is the study of tearing apart individual atoms to make new elements. Man-made nuclear transformations are expensive and dangerous, and so any take place in nuclear power plants, nuclear bombs, etc.

Molecularly tearing down household garbage waste and building a new material is what happens in the recycling industry. The raw materials are extracted from the trash and then sold to be turned into other materials.

4. Oct 17, 2011 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

I think you have a mix up of terms.

An Element: A chemical element is a pure chemical substance consisting of one type of atom distinguished by its atomic number, which is the number of protons in its nucleus.