1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

An Easy QM normalisation question

1. Nov 1, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Given a wave function psi, [itex]\psi (x) = A \sqrt{|x|} e^{- \beta x^2} [/itex] where [itex]\beta[/itex] is a constant (take the positive square root) . Normalise the wave function and hence find A.

2. Relevant equations
    ?

3. The attempt at a solution
    This is my first attempt at a problem like this, and I have missed around a 1/3 of the lectures on this this semester due to being ill.

Where it says that beta is a constant, I assumed that mean real, but even if its imaginary I still cant do it.

First if it is real then
    [tex]
    \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} |\psi|^2 \> dx= 1 \\
    \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} |A|^2 |x| e^{- 2 \beta x^2} \> dx = 1 \\
    |A|^2 \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} |x| e^{- 2 \beta x^2} \> dx = 1
    [/tex]
    But in a formula book we were given it says that that integral equals 0 , so I tried if it was complex then
    [tex]
    \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} |\psi|^2 \> dx= 1 \\
    \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} |A|^2 |x| e^{- \beta x^2} e^{ \beta x^2} \> dx = 1 \\
    |A|^2 \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} |x| \> dx = 1
    [/tex]
    Then how do I proceed from there, as surely [itex][\frac{1}{2}|x|^2]_{-\infty}^{\infty}[/itex] is just infinite?

I dont even know if if my method for the two cases is even correct. Please any help/advice is much appreciated, I have been looking at this problem for the past 3 hours, looking at the lecture notes, and online and I am really lost!

Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 1, 2015 #2

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper