Another question about complex potential

In summary, the conversation is about using complex potential to model fluid flow problems, specifically, interference from two point-like sources. The participant shares their previous success with using complex potential and presents their idea of applying it to interference. They also ask for help in understanding the connection between their calculations and the classical picture of interference. Another participant explains that interference is a result of phase differences in oscillatory phenomena and cannot be applied to a static situation.
Omri
Hi,

For those of you who remember my last thread here, I'm doing a high school graduation project about conformal mapping and the complex potential applied to fluid flow problems. The last time I asked for help you were incredibly helpful so I thought I'd share another issue with you.

I thought of trying to apply the complex potential method to one of the most basic problem I studied in wave theory: interference, for example from two point-like sources. This looks natural if I recall that for a single source at point a we have the complex potential
[tex]\frac{Q}{2\pi} \mathrm{Ln} (z-a)[/tex]
and superposition holds, so if we have two sources of equal strength at points d,-d (d is real), the overall potential should be
[tex]\frac{Q}{2\pi} (\mathrm{Ln} (z-d) + \mathrm{Ln} (z+d) )[/tex]
So I tried to work it out algebrically and found that the streamlines should be the curves that give rise so
[tex]x^2 - y^2 - \frac{2xy}{c} = d^2[/tex]
where c are the constants that represent the different streamlines. Since I don't recognize this algebric form of a curve, I just put it in Maxima and it gave me these graphs:
http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/5893/complex1qq5.png"
(d=0)
http://img374.imageshack.us/img374/7287/complex2wx5.png"
(d=0.1)
http://img376.imageshack.us/img376/4890/complex3xu8.png"
(d=1)