1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Are there careers in biochemical physics?

1. Jun 29, 2013 #1
    Hello! I am currently a rising sophomore chemical physics major and a deep interest I have is in applying physics to help find medication, treatment, or cures to certain diseases or just helping advance medical knowledge through physics. I know medical physics exists, but I would be more interested in doing research rather than working with patients (although I wouldn't mind.) My question is: Are there options within physics do study biochemical system that relates to medicine or finding cures? I really appreciate it!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 29, 2013 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Absolutely.

You may want to read up on biophysics and pharmacokinetics. There is all sorts of really exciting work being done right now in modeling and designing nanoparticles or nanostructures for diagnostic and therapeutic purposes.

I might also add that while medical physics has a strong clinical component, many medical physicists are quite engaged in research. And even on the clinical level, it's not all that common for a medical physicist to interact directly with a patient. It does happen from time to time, but most of the duties of a clinical medical physicist are behind the scenes.

4. Jun 30, 2013 #3
    Thanks for the info! Are you by any chance in any of these related fields?

5. Jun 30, 2013 #4

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I'm a medical physicist.

6. Jul 1, 2013 #5
    Awesome, could you tell me a little bit of what you do on a regular basis?

7. Jul 1, 2013 #6

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor