Are we not already travelling at the speed of light?

In summary, the person is new to physics and has recently learned that the speed of light is not a constant velocity we can achieve, but rather the speed that we are already traveling at. They ask for an explanation and are directed to cite their source. They are also told that we cannot travel at the speed of light or transform to the rest frame of the photon. They thank the person for their response.
ClintWalker
This isn't for any homework or coursework. I am new to physics and have decided to embrace my inner geek that i have been suppressing for 30 years.

Some light reading recently has pointed out to me that the speed of light is not a constant velocity we should hope to achieve but the speed at which we are already travelling.

Can someone explain this to me?

Science news on Phys.org
ClintWalker said:
This isn't for any homework or coursework. I am new to physics and have decided to embrace my inner geek that i have been suppressing for 30 years.

Some light reading recently has pointed out to me that the speed of light is not a constant velocity we should hope to achieve but the speed at which we are already travelling.

Can someone explain this to me?

We can't explain what you read without you citing the proper source, something we require in this forum.

https://www.physicsforums.com/blog.php?b=2703

And no, we cannot be traveling at c. We cannot transform to the rest frame of the photon.

Zz.

Last edited by a moderator:
ZapperZ said:
We can't explain what you read without you citing the proper source, something we require in this forum.

https://www.physicsforums.com/blog.php?b=2703

And no, we cannot be traveling at c. We cannot transform to the rest frame of the photon.

Zz.

thanks. I am new in here obviously

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is the speed of light?