Bending of manifold and coordinate change

In summary, the question being discussed is whether bending and stretching of a manifold is the same as a general transformation of a coordinate system on the manifold. It is argued that coordinate transformations have nothing to do with the shape of the manifold, while stretching is a change of shape and must be represented as a change of metric. Bending, on the other hand, only has meaning for an embedded manifold and changes the embedded curvature. However, it is suggested that stretching can still be identified with a coordinate change. Another topic of discussion is the effect of bending and stretching on geodesics and the possible topological classification based on their behavior. There is also a request for more specific details and examples to support the arguments being made.
I am new to this subject of topology. I want to know if bending and stretching of a manifold is same as a general transformation of a coordinate system drawn on the manifold. Or the mathematical definition of bending and stretching shall equally help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Deforming a local coordinate system of a manifold, you only get a new coordinate system for the same manifold.

Mathematically, I would describe the bending or stretching of a manifold M embedded in some R^n as an homotopy h:[0,1] x M --> R^n which is an embedding at all times.

Given a metric on the manifold, there may be a more intrinsic description of bending\stretching.

Last edited:
There is then another result you may be able to use here:

Say M is your manifold in its initial state, and M' is the "final"

state of the manifold, after doing some bending and stretching.

If the bending and stretching are done homeomorphically, i.e.,

if there is a homeo. h between M and M' , then you can use h

to pullback the charts of M into those of M'. If the bending and

stretching are not a homeomorphisms, i.e., if the homotopy that