Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Bending of manifold and coordinate change

1. Jun 20, 2010 #1
    I am new to this subject of topology. I want to know if bending and stretching of a manifold is same as a general transformation of a coordinate system drawn on the manifold. Or the mathematical definition of bending and stretching shall equally help.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 20, 2010 #2

quasar987

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Deforming a local coordinate system of a manifold, you only get a new coordinate system for the same manifold.

Mathematically, I would describe the bending or stretching of a manifold M embedded in some R^n as an homotopy h:[0,1] x M --> R^n which is an embedding at all times.

Given a metric on the manifold, there may be a more intrinsic description of bending\stretching.

Last edited: Jun 20, 2010
  4. Jun 20, 2010 #3
    There is then another result you may be able to use here:

Say M is your manifold in its initial state, and M' is the "final"

state of the manifold, after doing some bending and stretching.

If the bending and stretching are done homeomorphically, i.e.,

if there is a homeo. h between M and M' , then you can use h

to pullback the charts of M into those of M'. If the bending and

stretching are not a homeomorphisms, i.e., if the homotopy that

Quasar described is not an isotopy, then you are dealing with a

manifold M' that is topologically different from M, i.e., there may

not be atlases for M' that are compatible with those for M.

5. Jun 24, 2010 #4

lavinia

Science Advisor

coordinate transformations have nothing to do with the shape of the manifold. Stretching is a change of shape and must be represented as a change of metric not as a coordinate transformation.