Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Manifolds: local & global coordinate charts

1. Jul 8, 2016 #1
    I'm fairly new to differential geometry (learning with a view to understanding general relativity at a deeper level) and hoping I can clear up some questions I have about coordinate charts on manifolds.

Is the reason why one can't construct global coordinate charts on manifolds in general because the topology of a given coordinate chart is that of Euclidean space (i.e. ##\mathbb{R}^{n}## with the standard topology), whereas, in general the global topology of the manifold will be much more complex?! If this is the case, can one only construct a global coordinate chart on a manifold if its global topology is the standard Euclidean topology (does Minkowski spacetime have the standard Euclidean topology with a Minkowski geometry)?!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 8, 2016 #2

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

That's broadly it, but I wouldn't say it's about complexity. The simplest example I can think of is the one-dimensional manifold ##S^1##, which is the perimeter of the unit circle in ##\mathbb R^2##. It is not homeomorphic to any subset of ##\mathbb R## because it is path-connected but not simply connected, and there is no subset of ##\mathbb R## that is path-connected but not simply connected. So there can be no coordinate chart between the whole of ##S^1## and a subset of ##\mathbb R##.

4. Jul 8, 2016 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

No. There are nontrivial manifolds which do admit a global coordinate charts. For example, the cylinder.

5. Jul 8, 2016 #4

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Noting Micromass's counterexample to Frank's hypothesis, it's salient to note that the following