1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Best Minor for a Physics Major with these goals

1. Apr 9, 2015 #1

grandpa2390

Gold Member

So I am majoring in Physics due to its flexibility (and my love of the subject), but I never intended on going into research. I finally think I've decided what I want to do. I either want to go into some sort of economics/finance (a graduate student I knew got an offer from a major bank), or I want to be some sort of analyst (I love analyzing data. At this point the data I analyze is simple stuff). Or a combination of both.

I only need 2 more courses I think to get a minor in statistics, I am wondering if there is anything else that I should consider minoring in. I thought about a minor in economics/finance, but I read someone else post that undergrad courses in those subjects are worthless, that if I would be better off taking grad level, or teaching myself from books.

any thoughts? I am scheduled to take computational physics and one of the two statistics courses I need over the summer.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 10, 2015 #2
    You tell us, whats your dream job, something that you would like to wake up to every morning? and study for that?

4. Apr 10, 2015 #3

grandpa2390

Gold Member

I told you what my dream job would be... finance/economics, data analyst, or both.
    is that not specific enough?

5. Apr 10, 2015 #4
    Analyst would be a cool job for my opinion, if you take computational physics and other statistical studys it would be great because analysts are in high demand which could be a bonus (More money) rather then being in finance and economics cause there is less demand i guess

6. Apr 10, 2015 #5

grandpa2390

Gold Member