1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculate dim(U) and company - linear algebra

1. Mar 27, 2007 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Before I start, I should mention that I'm taking linear algebra in French so I hope I translated all the terms correctly. I'm studying for a test and here is a question i'm having a little trouble with...hope you can help!

U = span{[1 1 1 1]T, [-2 -2 1 1]T, [3 3 3 1]T, [0 0 1 0]T}

a) Calculate dim(U) and give a base of U.
    b) Complete the base found in a) to obtain a base of R4.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

a) I get a base of (-5/6, -1/3, -1/2, 1) so dim(U) has dim(U) = 1

b) This is where I don't know what to do. How to you complete a base? I don't need the answer, I just want to know how to complete a base. The only thought I had was to use the identity matrix but then again, I really don't know what to do or how to approach this. Any help is appreciated!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2007 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You seem to be misunderstanding the question since your answer to a) is not at all right. What you want to do is take the 4 vectors in your set and find a minimal set of linearly independent vectors with the same span. The usual technique to do this is called 'row reduction' (sorry I don't know the french!).

4. Mar 27, 2007 #3
    The dimension is determined by the smallest amount of linearly independent vectors that you can find, which describe entirely U. To do so, reduction is the way out.

marlon

5. Mar 27, 2007 #4
    hmm I thought thats what I did...

I reduced the matrix from:
    1 -2 3 0
    1 -2 3 0
    1 1 3 1
    1 1 1 0

to get..

1 0 0 5/6
    0 1 0 1/3
    0 0 1 1/2