Calculate dim(U) and company - linear algebra

In summary, the student is seeking help with a question involving calculating the dimension and finding a base for a given subspace. They have attempted to solve the problem using row reduction but have made a mistake in their calculations. The correct approach is to write the given vectors as rows and then row-reduce to find the basis vectors. The student is advised to try again and pay attention to signs in their calculations.
inner08

Homework Statement

Before I start, I should mention that I'm taking linear algebra in French so I hope I translated all the terms correctly. I'm studying for a test and here is a question I'm having a little trouble with...hope you can help!

U = span{[1 1 1 1]T, [-2 -2 1 1]T, [3 3 3 1]T, [0 0 1 0]T}

a) Calculate dim(U) and give a base of U.
b) Complete the base found in a) to obtain a base of R4.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

a) I get a base of (-5/6, -1/3, -1/2, 1) so dim(U) has dim(U) = 1

b) This is where I don't know what to do. How to you complete a base? I don't need the answer, I just want to know how to complete a base. The only thought I had was to use the identity matrix but then again, I really don't know what to do or how to approach this. Any help is appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
You seem to be misunderstanding the question since your answer to a) is not at all right. What you want to do is take the 4 vectors in your set and find a minimal set of linearly independent vectors with the same span. The usual technique to do this is called 'row reduction' (sorry I don't know the french!).

The dimension is determined by the smallest amount of linearly independent vectors that you can find, which describe entirely U. To do so, reduction is the way out.

marlon

hmm I thought that's what I did...

I reduced the matrix from:
1 -2 3 0
1 -2 3 0
1 1 3 1
1 1 1 0

to get..

1 0 0 5/6
0 1 0 1/3
0 0 1 1/2