Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculate moment of inertia of a "L" angle bent in a parabola

1. Jan 27, 2015 #1
    I want to calculate moment of inertia of an angle L bent in form of a parabola. The parabola is attatcehd to a H section bent in form of a circle such that the center of circle and focus of parabola lie at the same point. I want to know how to calculate the moment of inertia for the whole assembly

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2015 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Shaheen, welcome to PF! :)

This forum is provided by new members to introduce themselves. You should not post anything here but "Hi, I'm Shaheen, and I'm new to PF" and other such introductions. I'm sure you don't introduce yourself to your friends by saying, "I have this beam bent in the shape of a parabola ..."

If you wish to start a thread with a technical question, PF has several different forums in which to post. Good Luck!

4. Jan 27, 2015 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Note: this thread was moved here from the "New Member Introductions" forum, where SteamKing saw it.

5. Jan 27, 2015 #4

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

To be clear, are you talking about calculating the mass moment of inertia of this construction?

6. Jan 30, 2015 #5
    Yes i am talking about mass moment of inertia.

7. Jan 30, 2015 #6

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Do you have any drawings or sketches of this construction?

8. Feb 2, 2015 #7
    Yes this is the diagram. The parabola and half circle are connected trough trusses

Attached Files:

9. Feb 2, 2015 #8

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper