Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculating Energy to Pressure

1. Oct 29, 2009 #1
    I am a student at the University of Delaware, working for the Disaster Research Center under grant from the National Science Foundation. My project has me analyzing building collapses and rubble/debris pile structure. I have been loaned a program by the Livermore Laboratory called Cheetah which calculates explosive pressures. This program has been unbelievably useful but the output for particular data is given to me in energy (Kg/cc) and I need it in a pressure form to calculate the pressures acting on the structure.

How can I convert the energy to pressure? Remember this is acting on a structure and is not contained in a specific volume other than the container that the device is located in (which disintegrates upon initial reaction) and is not moving the entire object (so calculating the amount of work being done is a no go). Thanks for any help you can give me.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 29, 2009 #2

Andrew Mason

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Pressure is a measure of the energy density of a pressurized fluid. If you are given units of energy per unit volume (this would be KJ/cc perhaps but not Kg/cc which is simple mass density), that would be the internal energy of the gas per unit volume. The relationship between pressure and internal energy depends on the specific heat of the gas. If we are dealing with air, the Cv of air is about 5R/3 (mostly diatomic gas) where R is the gas constant. So to convert Energy density to pressure you would multiply by 3/5:

U = nCvT = 5nRT/3

PV = nRT (ideal gas equation)

So: U = 5PV/3; P = 3U/5