Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculating Resistivity across a mesh sheet

1. Nov 3, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone!

I'm trying to figure out how to go about this in calculating resistivity of a titanium grade 1 mesh. From what I know the ρ for titanium is 4.3x10^-8 ohm x m. The mesh will be a 1x12inch sheet wrapped cylindrically end to end. Here are the stock values including a change in area. Les also say the temperature of the material is 20°C and grade 1 is equal to 99.9% pure so lets just round that to 100% and ignore impurities.

Area: 12x12inches
    Wire diameter: 0.0020inches = 0.0508mm
    Width Opening: 0.0080 inches = 0.2032mm
    Wire Mesh (wires/in): 100 x 100
    % open Area: 64%
    ρ for titanium is 4.3x10^-8 ohm x m

I was thinking of using
    R=(ρ)(Length)/(cross section area of wire)

im not an electrical engineer, so any guidance whats so ever would be a great help. Thank you everyone.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 3, 2015 #2
    also if you need any other values, please let me know and I'll try to get them to you.

4. Nov 3, 2015 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.

Your geometry is not entirely clear to me. First you talk about a metal sheet, then you wrap it around a cylinder (?) and then there are some wires attached somehow? Can you post a sketch or some other way of illustrating what you are making? Also, how thick is the sheet? What are the wires made of?

5. Nov 3, 2015 #4
    1V4XVAM.jpg

Its a mesh sheet made out of titanium. The goal is to wrap one end and connect it to the other to create a cylinder.
    IJEa1p7.jpg
    The thickness of the mesh is 0.0020 inches. I
    Does that help?

6. Nov 3, 2015 #5

berkeman

Oh, it's a mesh of bare wires, not a solid sheet. Got it. And the wires are made of titanium? How are they bonded at the crossings? What will be the resistance of the bonds?