1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculus Textbook Recommendation (for Chemist/Microbiologist)

1. Jun 18, 2014 #1
    Hello!

I am an undergraduate student majoring in the chemistry and microbiology. Summer vacation is truly a great time to teach myself some some subjects besides conducting the scientific research, and I am decided to self-study the calculus over this summer (I took the introductory calculus but the course was not too deep but focused only on the general problem-solving). I am planning to purchase some "deep, proof-based, and rigorous" calculus textbooks because I realized that physical chemistry, quantum mechanics, and physics (and chemistry itself) that I have to take later on really depend on the proof-based calculus. I am also thinking of purchasing one or two books from Spivak, Courant, Lang, or Apostol (I like to buy all of them but each costs a lot). What calculus textbook from above do you recommend to me? I am planning to finish the book by the end of the summer vacation. If you also know a calculus textbook that is dedicated to the chemistry, please let me share your information too.

Have a wonderful day!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 18, 2014 #2
    How much calculus did you take and what textbook did you use in school?

4. Jun 18, 2014 #3

verty

Homework Helper

Lang, you are likely to find cheap versions of it available because his books are very popular. Also I think you don't really need the FULL rigor of calculus for chemistry.

5. Jun 18, 2014 #4