Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can color of the room change the acoustics?

1. Sep 3, 2012 #1
    I know it's probably a silly question, but does it?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 3, 2012 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

Not the color itself, however the material required to make the different colors could be different, which could alter the acoustics.

4. Sep 3, 2012 #3
    Interesting answer, thanks for the reply, I was thinking of sound like light, and how different colors reflect or absorb light, and was curious about sound. Thanks again.

5. Sep 3, 2012 #4
    I believe the traveling of sound can be analagous to the traveling of light since they are both waves (but I'm no expert on acoustics). Your main difference here is that sound is a mechanical wave that is created by oscillation air pressure. The color of a surface that comes into contact with oscillations in air pressure has no effect.

Light is an electromagnetic wave, so when it comes into contact with an electron, it can either absorb that energy or reflect it. This depends on the wavelength of the light. Black will absorb almost all visible light. I believe that this is true because black has a complete lack of electrons in higher states, so it will absorb almost any wavelength of light (although I'm not 100% sure about that statement).

6. Sep 3, 2012 #5

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Different colours of paint absorb and reflect different wavelengths of light. Likewise different types of furniture and furnishings (eg curtains) absorb sounds of different wavelengths. Remember those old bookcases with sliding glass doors? The glass sometimes rattled/resonated when different notes were played. If you have ever moved into an empty new house they can echo quite badly until the curtains are up.

7. Sep 3, 2012 #6