Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Can inviscid fluids rightly be called Newtonian?

1. Sep 1, 2016 #1
    I am studying an inviscid fluid. I am trying to characterise the fluid. Does it make sense to call it Newtonian or should I avoid this designation? What I mean is - if there are no viscous stresses then does it make sense to characterise it's response to viscous stresses? (That box that doesn't exist - what colour is it?!!)
    Also if the fluid is incompressible does this imply the fluid is homogeneous, i.e. is it better to use one or other of these terms but not both?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 1, 2016 #2
    A Newtonian fluid is one that is viscous. So, if it is inviscid (not viscous), then it is not Newtonian. Why would you be motivated to use the word homogeneous in place of the word incompressible?

4. Sep 1, 2016 #3
    Thanks for the feedback. My motivation is to use whatever is the most appropriate terminology! I'm trying to ensure my assumptions are water tight.

5. Sep 1, 2016 #4
    OK. Then incompressible best describes incompressible.

6. Sep 1, 2016 #5
    I'm thinking that homogeneity requires incompressibility but not the other way round. Perhaps use of the word homogeneity avoids needing to say that it is incompressible and isothermal and several other things

7. Sep 1, 2016 #6
    There are much more important things to obsess about than terminology.

8. Sep 1, 2016 #7
    That's a great help...cheers.

9. Sep 1, 2016 #8

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Homogeneity means something entirely different. I've heard it used in one or two different senses in the various fields of fluid mechanics, and none of them have to do with incompressibility. Incompressible has a very specific definition.

10. Sep 3, 2016 #9

olivermsun

Science Advisor

Yes.