Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Capacitor Charger | LED Illuminate when Complete

1. Jul 21, 2009 #1
    I'm looking to assemble a capacitor charger in a nice, durable enclosure. I already have the DC to HV DC converter. I'm just looking, now, for a way to indicate when the capacitor is fully charged, practically identical to how a flash-enabled camera indicates when its capacitor is charged and ready for flash.

I'm not an electrical engineer, as such, I've thoroughly searched the big G for schematics or diagrams of this circuit and have come up empty handed. I'm sure it's rather simple and involves the manner of which the capacitor blocks DC current flow once the capacitor has been charged to the voltage of the source.

Any hints or help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance for your time.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 21, 2009 #2
    Well if you know how to read an electronic schematic I can provide you with some very simple setups.

4. Jul 21, 2009 #3
    That would be outstanding! :-)

5. Jul 21, 2009 #4

vk6kro

Science Advisor

You probably have something like this:
    HV supply........... resistor..............capacitor............ground.

If so, you could lift the connection to ground and put a small resistor in there.

Now, if you measure the voltage across this resistor, you could see when there was no longer any current flowing into the capacitor. This avoids having any delicate circuitry at high voltage.
    The start current would be about (HV supply) / (resistance of resistor) and you could use this current to work out a suitable resistor.
    For example, to use the 2 V range on a digital multimeter you might like to make the voltage across this resistor start at 2 volts and decrease as the capacitor charged up.

6. Jul 21, 2009 #5

negitron

Science Advisor

This is exactly the solution I was going to propose.

7. Jul 21, 2009 #6