Are capacitors the superior alternative to lithium ion batteries?

In summary, capacitors seem to be a better option than lithium ion batteries for many applications, but there are some downsides.
NikolaiSimonov
TL;DR Summary
Why didn't we already switch from lithium ion batteries to large capacitance capacitors with big resistors?
I'm an undergrad physics student, so, I don't yet know much about the technicalities behind using chemical batteries vs capacitors. However, from what I've learned so far, capacitors seem to be a far better option than lithium ion batteries - they're not hazardous (at least when discharged), do not require rare or expensive materials, do not lose maximum capacity over time, and, most of all, do not explode when disconnected (I think). Also, we can control a discharge rate of a capacitor by adjusting the resistance. So, the question is why aren't we all using capacitors everywhere and what are the downsides/obstacles with using them?
On the second note, would using stuff like graphene or any other monoathomic layer of something improve the capacitors. It would seem to make them much more compact.

Likes sysprog
Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF! :smile:
NikolaiSimonov said:
capacitors seem to be a far better option than lithium ion batteries
The biggest issue is energy density. You can use a Google search to compare the energy density of capacitors to that of batteries (versus fossile fuels).
NikolaiSimonov said:
Also, we can control a discharge rate of a capacitor by adjusting the resistance.
Using a resistor to control the discharge of a capacitor energy storage element wastes a lot of that energy (lost as heat in the resistor). Instead, you would control the discharge using a DC-DC converter circuit, which has minimal energy loss/waste in the conversion. (Another term for you to do a Google search on) :smile:

Likes russ_watters, sophiecentaur, davenn and 2 others
Welcome aboard, @NikolaiSimonov --