1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Career Change at age 30 Caution-Long Post

1. Feb 7, 2015 #1
    I posted on another topic of going into engineering at age 30 but I really have an interest in math and physics and I want to study physics. Not because it will have money waiting on me at the end, or for any other reason for the sheer joy of learning it and just being happy.

Lately in my life I have had many medical issues that nearly cost me my life and I am still recovering from Bell's Palsy. I cannot see myself doing something that I feel is not worthwhile of the time I have left on this planet. When you nearly lose your life twice in one year, you really focus on whats most important out of life, and money definitely is not it.

As of now I work as a technician in a pharmaceutical company and I am just miserable, and also the job is what is causing me my health issues. The job is not bad per say, but it is not something that allows me to be creative.

I guess I can say I have had an epiphany of sorts because each day I often wonder if I will make it to the next and I find peace and solace in astronomy, math and physics. I have a strong interest and passion towards electromagnetism.

Originally I set out to become a microbiologist, well due to medical reasons it is not wise for me to work with chemicals or bacteria so chemistry and microbiology is out. Biology is very interesting but I still feel it is not giving me the knowledge I am craving. If I want biology I will go for a stroll in the park or take a long nature hike.