Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Choice of action to geodesic equations

1. Jan 7, 2015 #1
    Hello,

I am quite new to GR and I have a question regarding the construction of the action to find the geodesic equation.
    In pretty much every book, you'll find:

##S=-m ∫ dS##

using: ## dS=dS\frac{d\tau}{d\tau}=\sqrt{g_{\mu \nu}\frac{dx^{\mu}}{d\tau}\frac{dx^{\nu}}{d\tau}}d\tau## with ##dS=\sqrt{g_{\mu \nu}dx^{\mu}dx^{\nu}}##

one gets: ##dS= -m∫\sqrt{g_{\mu \nu}\frac{dx^{\mu}}{d\tau}\frac{dx^{\nu}}{d\tau}}d\tau##

Minimisation of this quantity gives rise to the geodesic equations.
    I understand that contruction: given a certain metric, the particule moves in a "straight" line, minimizing proper time.

Here's my problem, when dealing with the Schwarzchild metric, my prof. uses:
    ##S= -m∫g_{\mu \nu}\frac{dx^{\mu}}{d\tau}\frac{dx^{\nu}}{d\tau}d\tau##
    Which makes the computation much easier, I've also been able to re-find the geodesic equation starting from this expression.

My questions would be:
    What is the diffence between ##d\tau## and ##dS## and what is the difference between these to actions ? I feel like I'm confusing proper time, interval ##dS## and the action differential...

It would be great if someone could explain me the meaning of this!
    Thank you very much

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 7, 2015 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The second choice is equivalent to the first if you reparameterise your curve such that the curve parameter is an affine parameter (i.e., essentially you are taking the curve length as the parameter). This is of course a choice you can always make and it will not change the curve that results.

4. Jan 7, 2015 #3

stevendaryl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor