Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Circuit for reactive archery target

1. Jul 20, 2016 #1
    Hi guys! I'm new to tinkering with electronics, but I would like to design a reactive archery target that consists of two foil plates, that connect when pierced with an arrow, closing a switch, causing a photography strobe to go off. Does anyone know where to start? I bought an arduino and a breadboard but haven't been successful in getting this thing to work yet.

I would also like to add multiple targets for a round of shooting (without walking up to the circuit to reset the system).

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!!

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 9.35.32 AM.png

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2016 #2
    That sounds like a nice project...

Do you apply voltage (5 V) to one foil, and measure the voltage on the other via the ADC (analogRead())? What kind of foil do you use, and how are the separated, are they gonna be replaced after every shot?

It might also work by using a special arrow, or measuring the presence of an arrow capacitively (change in capacitance of the foil) or inductively, magnetically (hall sensor + magnet). - Or more easily, by an impact sensor! Simply a piezo speaker that picks up vibration (contact mic), that can be amplified and measured. Or some light/IR barrier... many possibilities there. - Do you need to know the exact position of the bolt on the target?

Either use one arduino, and long cables to hook them all up to one central one, use multiple ones for every target or connect them to the player via radio (look up 433 MHz modules for simple serial communication (cheap, but error prone), or WiFi (ESP8266 and the like), or things like ZigBee/Xbee/nrf24l01 for more advanced/reliable systems).