1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Classical mechanics differential equation F(x) = -kx

1. Jun 23, 2017 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A particle of mass m is subject to a force F (x) = -kx. The initial position is
    zero, and the initial speed is v0. Find x(t).

2. Relevant equations
    F = m*v*dv/dx = -kx
    v = dx/dt

3. The attempt at a solution
    I'm new to differential equations, so please excuse me if I make any amateurish mistakes.
    -kx = mv*dv/dx
    After integrating:
    -kx2/2 + c = mv2/2
    v2 = -kx2 + c

This is the part I'm unsure about, the inital values:
    v2(0) = 0 + c = v02
    So c = v02

v = (v02 - kx2/m)1/2

dx/v(x) = dt
    After integrating: (a bit messy)
    t = (m/k)1/2*arcsin(x*(k/v02m)1/2) + c
    c=0
    Just wanted to know if I went wrong somewhere as I'm not convinced by the final answer.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 23, 2017 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

You are to find x as a function of t, it makes more sense to solve the differential equation in time. You can do it like that if you really want to complicate your life... just solve for x from your expression.

4. Jun 23, 2017 #3
    How would I go about doing this? I'm not sure how to solve in time if the function is of position.

5. Jun 23, 2017 #4

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

What function is of position? There are only functions of time. The force is a function of position, which is a function of time. What you have to do is to solve the resulting differential equation.

6. Jun 23, 2017 #5

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member