1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Colleges, Universities, and Rankings

1. May 8, 2007 #1

I am a high school student who is currently looking at my options for different colleges, cost, rankings, quality of education, and student to teacher ratios. I am a national merit semifinalist and am in serious contention to become a finalist. I hold a 35 out of 36 on the ACT, and have not yet received results from SAT. I am looking for a college with a reputation for success in Engineering and Physics as I am considering a career involving physics or engineering, and would like to spend a negligible amount on the cost of my undergraduate education (3,000-4,000 a year). This means that I am looking for a university with a large amount of scholarship money available. I would like to know how different univerisities within the U.S. rank. Current schools that I am looking at are Auburn University, Texas at Austin, Texas A and M, Mississppi State, and Florida. If anyone has an opinion on any of these schools or on any college in the U.S., your advice and comments would be much appreciated. Lastly, I would like to go to a school where I the student teacher ratio is not immense. Thank you in advance for all your comments.

2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2007 #2
    UT at austin and aTm are both very good schools, but especially in engineering. I can't speak to much about aTm, but I have a friend who goes there as some type of engineer major, and he tells me he is not disappointed with his education there and enjoys it very much so.

I also have a few EE majors at UT. The school is very competitive, so if you decide UT make sure you want to work. Professors here tend to have little time, so you have to fight for attention.
  4. May 9, 2007 #3