1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Company Pays for My Masters Degree Info?

1. Nov 23, 2007 #1
    Hi - I'm an undergrad EE thinking about graduate school: whether or not to attend after I graduate or later.

If I go to graduate school immediately after, I will have to pay. If I get a job with a reputable company with a decent tuition assistance program, they will pay. Obviously, we know which one is the better choice.

Now, my question is - if I get a job with a company as I mentioned above, how long will it take (average/median time) for me to be considered to attend graduate school on the company's money? Is there a general requirement?

Also, has anyone gone through this procedure? Is it difficult to prove to your manager that you're worthy for a masters on the company's money? Any advice/stories?

Thanks all.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 23, 2007 #2
    I can imagine the company would be in need of someone with a masters, its kind of like, well why give this guy a masters if we don't have any spots open for it?

So if theres a demand for a person with a master's degree you'll be in luck BUT the hard part is, competing with all the other engineers who have worked longer for the company.

My uncle got his masters after a few years but this was when Computer Science was new, not sure how EE would go about doing it, again its probably supply and demand to determine how long until you can do it.

4. Nov 24, 2007 #3

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I might be too cynical but in my experience they pay for a masters when you have been there 3-5 years and look like you are going to move on.