List of terminal master's programs?

In summary: I don't like it, I feel like I have to just quit.It sounds like you have your reservations about a PhD, but you still want to pursue one. That's reasonable. It's also reasonable to have reservations about a PhD, but you still want to pursue one.
max-hanrahan
Hello!

I'm a rising senior in undergrad, and grad school's on my mind. I want to get a better feel for research but don't want to fully commit to a PhD, and so one of my professors recommend I look into grad programs with terminal master's degrees—that is, schools that offer a physics master's and don't offer a physics PhD.

That way, master's students in physics have to receive funding because they're needed for research. (Paying for a master's is a dealbreaker for me— I won't jump into a program if I know I won't be compensated.)

My prof cited her undergrad institution, Miami University of Ohio, as one such example. I'm just not sure where to look for other schools— can anyone point me to a list?

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
max-hanrahan said:
That way, master's students in physics have to receive funding because they're needed for research.
I am not sure that's true.

max-hanrahan said:
I want to get a better feel for research but don't want to fully commit to a PhD, and so one of my professors recommend I look into grad programs with terminal master's degrees—that is, schools that offer a physics master's and don't offer a physics PhD.
Why not apply to PhD schools that also offer an MS, and if you find you don't like research, take your MS and leave?

Also, I presume you will be doing research next year and maybe over the summer?

Vanadium 50 said:
Why not apply to PhD schools that also offer an MS, and if you find you don't like research, take your MS and leave?
I just don't want to have to lie or burn that bridge. Though I do understand that people do it all the time.