1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Complex Variable Basic Proof by Induction (I'm lost.)

1. Aug 31, 2009 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Use mathematical induction to show that when n = 2,3,...,

[tex]\overline{z_1+z_2+\cdots +z_n} = \bar{z_1} + \bar{z_2} + \cdots + \bar{z_n}[/tex]

2. Relevant equations

[tex]\overline{z_1 + z_2} = \bar{z_1} + \bar{z_2}[/tex]

3. The attempt at a solution

So help me get started on the first step because I am new to induction. The only proofs I've done/seen (not many) were proved for each [tex]n \in N[/tex]. With that said how do I even start by showing that P(1) holds because the n = 2, 3, ... is throwing me off because 1 is not in there. Does it mean show for all numbers starting from 2? So should I be proving P(2) holds in the first step? Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 31, 2009 #2
    Yes, Prove that it is true for n=2 as a first step, then assume for n and then using that prove that it is also true for n+1

4. Aug 31, 2009 #3
    So to show P(2) holds:

[tex]P(2) = \bar{2} = \bar{2}[/tex]

this seems goofy. So should it be this way instead?

LHS = [tex]\overline{2+3} = \bar{5}[/tex]

RHS = [tex]\bar{2}+\bar{3} = \bar{5}[/tex]

Then [tex]\bar{5} = \bar{5}[/tex]. So P(2) is true.

5. Aug 31, 2009 #4
    In this case the inductive variable n is refering to the indeces of the terms, not the values of the terms. So P(2) is the statement

[tex]\overline{(z_1+z_2)} = \overline{z_1} + \overline{z_2}[/tex]

while P(3) is

[tex]\overline{(z_1+z_2+z_3)}=\overline{z_1} + \overline{z_2} + \overline{z_3}.[/tex]

(Side comment P(1) is trivially true since z-bar = z-bar is an identity and not useful here.)