1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Composition of surjective functions

1. Jul 16, 2014 #1
    I'm learning maths myself, but I'm going to university in 2 months. This is my first try at proving anything.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Prove that the composition of surjective functions is also a surjection.

2. Relevant equations
    A definition of surjective function:
    If [itex]f:S_1\rightarrow S_2[/itex] is a surjection:
    [itex]\forall y\in S_2\exists x\in S_1:y=f(x)[/itex].

A definition of composition of functions:
    If [itex]f:S_1\rightarrow S_2[/itex] and [itex]g:S_2\rightarrow S_3[/itex] are functions, then [itex]h:S_1\rightarrow S_3[/itex] is the composition of functions f and g:
    [itex]g\circ f(x)=g[f(x)]=g(y)=z[/itex].

3. The attempt at a solution
    I've read some of the texts that talk about proofs, and all of them made sense to me, for example the proving of an irrational number and square roots, but I can't say if this proof is "enough".

If [itex]f:S_1\rightarrow S_2[/itex] and [itex]g:S_2\rightarrow S_3[/itex] are surjections by definitions:

[itex]\forall y\in S_2\exists x\in S_1:y=f(x)\ \ \ \ (1)[/itex]
    [itex]\forall z\in S_3\exists y\in S_2:z=g(y)\ \ \ \ (2)[/itex],

composition of these two functions [itex]g\circ f(x)[/itex] is also a surjection.

We have to prove:
    [itex]\forall z\in S_3\exists x\in S_1:z=g\circ f(x)[/itex].