1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computer Science undergrad. in Canada - Small uni vs Big uni

1. Jul 17, 2009 #1
    Greetings,

Recently, while for what must be the thousandth time, I've rethought my plans for university, and discovered that studying something I've always been very interested in - Computer Science, software design and development - is an actual possibility. For some reason, I've never thought of this path before.

I'm a Norwegian student enrolled in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. I want to study abroad, and Canada seems like the most viable option, for a multitude of reasons. So, on to my question.

I have every intent to go to grad school, and have never considered stopping at a bachelor's. So what I'm wondering is which type of university it would be beneficial for me to attend with regards to grad school: A big, research-heavy school such as University of Toronto; or a smaller, more 'intimate' school like Mount Allison, UNBC, Acadia and StFX, to take the top 4 of the newest Maclean Primarily Undergraduate ranking list.

As an international student, the smaller schools are significantly cheaper. Mount Allison and StFX would both cost me around $13-14k a year in tuition, while the bigger schools would run me over $20k a year. This limits my choice of big schools, as I'm reliant on an additional stipend from the Norwegian government to cover the tuition, and only Queen's, UBC and U of T qualify for this stipend.

Personally, I think I'd enjoy the smaller, more intimate environment of a small school, and would learn better in this environment. Will grad schools I apply to care which school I'm from? If so, do they look favorably upon smaller schools? Or will they just care about my grades and research?