1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Considering changing majors from physics to computer science

1. Sep 13, 2012 #1
    I'm majoring in physics right now, but I'm considering switching to computer science. I'm currently enrolled in electromagnetism. Since the class started I noticed something about myself: I'm not enjoying a second of it. I can't stand doing the homework, I'm disinterested in the course material, and worst of all: I hate the labs. I started doing some programming and I enrolled in the introductory course at my university, and I've been absolutely loving CS. I actually have been using my spare time to learn about programming and computers. I really enjoy CS, but I'm still unsure about changing my major. What do you guys think?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 13, 2012 #2

Pengwuino

Gold Member

If you seem to dislike everything about it, yes, you should switch.

Maybe you should take some time to talk to more advanced physics students and ask them what the more advanced stuff is like and why they do physics. The introductory courses are not a good barometer of how well you would like being a physics major. Then you might want to do the same with CS majors to see if you're making a good decision or not.

4. Sep 13, 2012 #3
    Have you always felt this way about your physics coursework? Which other physics classes have you taken, and how did you do in them/feel about them?

As for the CS, sounds like you definitely have a knack for it. I'd definitely add it as a minor or double major (if you don't drop physics).

5. Sep 13, 2012 #4