Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Container filled with gas - interaction between the molecules

1. Dec 30, 2011 #1
    Hello there,

I'm studying thermodynamics right now, and a question popped into my mind for which I haven't found a decent and detailed explanation so far. Say that we have a container filled with any kind of gas, and we can control the temperature of the wall of the container. If we increase the temperature of the wall soon the gas inside heats up as well. I'm curious how is that heat dissipated from the wall to the gas using a microscopic view (like: due to the increased temperature the molecules in the wall the start resonate more rapidly and the molecules of the gas collide with the molecules of the wall and blablabla...) If you can answer or tell me where can I find a comprehensive study concerning this, I would be very grateful!

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 31, 2011 #2
    A day passed and still no answers :(
    Let me rephrase then:
    Is there an explanation for how the transfer of energy/heat happens between solid (wall) and gas molecules on the atomic scale?
    Pretty please, I'm really curious. Someone help me?

4. Dec 31, 2011 #3
    Hello edy, welcome to physics forums.

This is a very good question, but not the best time of year to ask it.

However here is a simple kinetic theory explanation.

Consider the particles or molecules. Any molecules, gas molecules, container molecules whatever.

A collision, capable of transferring energy (heat) is said to occur when the distance between the centres equals the sum of their radii.

The probability of a collision depends upon the size of the area defined by this sum and is often called the effective cross section and given the symbol sigma (σ).

The rate of collisions depends in turn on the probability and the rate of energy transfer upon the rate of collisions.