Cost of a 50 km range RC system & Type of Antenna

In summary, a mechanical engineering student is working on a reconnaissance/surveillance UAV system with either a FLIR camera or GoPro with turret system. It will transmit 4K or lower quality video, sensor records, and be controlled by RC. The drone will operate at maximum 3 km altitude and have a 50 km mission radius. There are questions about the feasibility and cost of a 50 km range RC system and the appropriate antenna type. The student is also considering meeting aircraft standards for potential commercial use and obtaining a HAM license. However, there may be difficulties in achieving long-distance control and obtaining video at 4kbit/s.
mastermechanic
Hello everyone,
I'm a mechanical engineering student working on a reconnaissance/surveillance UAV system. To summarize it,

1-) It will either have FLIR camera system (If I can afford it) or GoPro with turret system. In either case it will transmit 4K or lower quality video record. It will also transmit sensor records and will be controlled by RC to control all servos and etc.
2-) It will operate at max 3 km of altitude and in a mission radius of 50 km.

Since I am a mechanical engineering student I don't have enough background about how these things work. In the second part the numbers are arbitrarily chosen and depend upon the cost, for example if 200 km range of RC system is still affordable then I change it.

Most UAVs are operating at VHF and UHF bands. I am still doing some research on it but by now I couldn't find any information about cost. My questions are;

1-) Can a 3 or 4th grade electrical & electronics student built such a system with 50 km range? I mean is it feasible for a good student?
2-) In which order does an approx. 50 km range RC system cost if it is made by a student and if I get the system from a specific company?
3-) What type of antenna is appropriate for this project?

Your answers are valuable to me. Thanks!

Last edited: