Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Creating a contained vacuum. Ideas?

1. Aug 31, 2009 #1
    First off, I'm new here. Greetings! I should start off by saying I'm not a genius, as I'm sure some people here may be. I don't have a degree in any of the fields on this website, but all interest me. I like to think I have a general understanding of how some things work, but I know I always need to learn more. Which of course, is why I am here.

I've been working on an experiment for around two years now. Designed it during spare time in college and just haven't really dedicated time or money to it until now. I'm at a point where I need to make a contained vacuum, preferrably the most efficient vacuum possible for the best price. Unfortunately I do not know where to begin, I know there are ways to force extraction of air from a container by a pump, and ways to do it chemically. I really need as little air resistance as possible within my container.

Another setback is the container (at least the original design) will be made from a transparent material, likely Lexan.

The container will not likely be much bigger than a 5 gallon bucket, and will have many things inside of it that will take up space. Metal, ceramics, ect ect. (That may be important for chemical vacuum ideas?)

I just need a direction to start some research in on costs, I've drawn a blank!

Thanks to anyone who volunteers thier precious time to help me!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 31, 2009 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF. For your initial experiments, you can probably just use a Bell Jar like this:

http://scientificsonline.com/product.asp_Q_pn_E_3071338

And a suitable vacuum pump. You can get basic vacuum pumps for $100-$200 or so.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vacuum_pump

http://www.usvacuumpumps.com/welcome/ [Broken]