Curved-spacetime, but why curved coordinates?

• Thread starter Master J
  • Start date
I have just started self-studying General Relativity with Landau-Lifshitz' Classical theory of Fields, supplementing it with a bit of extra math here and there ( I have an experimental degree).
He introduces curved spacetime by stating that in a non-inertial reference-frame, the space-time interval ds in curved, since it is described by a general quadratic form:

ds[itex]^{2}[/itex] = g[itex]_{ik}[/itex].dx[itex]^{i}[/itex].dx[itex]^{k}[/itex]

That much is obvious to me sinceif one simply takes ds[itex]^{2}[/itex] and graphs it it would sketch a curve. However, it is then stated that the coordinates are curvilinear.

Why is that? Why cant the above equation simply represent a curve, but in orthogonal Cartesian coordinates?

Why cant the above equation simply represent a curve, but in orthogonal Cartesian coordinates?
Because there is no such thing as "orthogonal Cartesian coordinates" if the metric is not the Minkowski metric, i.e., if ##g_{ik} \neq \eta_{ik}##. In other words, the definition of "orthogonal Cartesian coordinates" assumes an inertial reference frame.

Nugatory

Mentor
Why is that? Why cant the above equation simply represent a curve, but in orthogonal Cartesian coordinates?
Consider a two dimensional surface with coordinates ##x^1## and ##x^2##. There is a curve of constant ##x^i## passing through each point. If you want orthogonal you want these two curves to be perpendicular at every point. Latitude and longitude on the surface of the spherical earth are an example, and clearly these can’t be Cartesian.

pervect

Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Insights Author
I have just started self-studying General Relativity with Landau-Lifshitz' Classical theory of Fields, supplementing it with a bit of extra math here and there ( I have an experimental degree).